India News

ASUS ROG Masters Announces INR 10 Lakh Indian Qualifier

Pin it

The esports extravaganza ASUS ROG Masters is back for a second season with INR 3.2 crore global prize pool.

The tournament will span across 30 countries as gamers will compete in Counter Strike: Global Offensive and DOTA 2. The Indian qualifiers will extend to Sri Lank and Bangladesh with both country’s receiving 1 slot each and India receiving 4 slots.

The India qualifier is divided into two segments – Offline India Qualifier (Qualifier #1) & India Open Online(Qualifier #2). The offline qualifier will have a total of 16 cafes (List appended below) across 8 cities that will host the tournament from 8th to 25th July. Post this, there will be India Online Open (Qualifier #2) scheduled to commence from 27th July 2017.  The South-Asia finale will be hosted in Bengaluru at The Lalit on 19th-20th August.

The event is a great opportunity for teams in India to showcase their talent after one team made it to the finals last time around.

  • In phase one of India qualifier, Offline tournaments will be held across 8 cities and 16 cafes, there will be a total of 8 teams who will compete against each other to find the top position which will lead to South-Asia finals. 16 cafes will host the offline qualifiers across Mumbai, Pune, Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bhubaneswar and Delhi
  • In Phase 2, India Online Qualifier#2, three winning teams per game will advance to South Asia Finals. This will be an open qualifier in which all the teams except the winners of Phase 1 will be eligible to participate
  • In the third phase, 4 teams from India, 1 team from Bangladesh, 1 from Sri-Lanka, per game will fight it out at the South Asia Finals at The Lalit, Bengaluru. One winner will advance to the APAC regional qualifiers, the finale of which will be held in Bangkok in October 2017. One winning team from each of the region will then proceed to the grand finale in Singapore in November 2017
  • One Indian team will have a total of three chances to qualify and advance to the APAC finals (India offline Qualifier#1 + India Online Qualifer#2 + APAC open Online Qualifier)

Log In or Create an account